quarter life crisis

A cliche? Oh yes. Is it real? For me at this moment – yes, if I were to put a label to it.

My hilarious childhood and teenage concepts of what life at 25 should be like are colliding with my self-imposed perception of societal expectations. Who knew that while I was acting like a little rebellious teenager I was expecting a traditional adult self to emerge someday? Hilarious. Those thoughts must have snuck in somewhere…

And I’m finding it simultaneously comforting, humbling, and frustrating to have a cliche be so appropriate for what I’m feeling right now – all I had to do was Google “goals at 25” or “quarter life” and up popped my oh-so-personal struggles with financial realities, career choices, and critical perception of self and peers at this juncture in time.

So yes, I am experiencing a self-diagnosed quarter life crisis.

How are you?

4 thoughts on “quarter life crisis

  1. Hey Chris!
    I stumbled here from the photos you tagged of mine, thanks! But I have a hilarious book for you regarding the quarter-life. Its called “Its a beautiful lie: 26 truths about life in your 20s”.
    A compilation of short stories from female writers, now in their 30s, writing about their 20s.
    Give it a shot, and let me know what you think!
    Love all your photo, farming, Mainey goodness!
    xo
    Tori

  2. aww thanks girl! i’ll definitely have to check that out, i’m always looking for a good read. miss your sweetness! xo

  3. Girl, I just started my blog based on the idea that I’m going through the same thing!! How did the mid-twenties come through so soon?!

Leave a Reply

